top of page

Des expositions

CELA ARRIVE MAINTENANT -

« Deep Cuts », du 11 avril au 9 mai

Une exposition personnelle de collages de l'artiste Rhonda Barrett abordant le chagrin, la frustration et la colère causés par le décès de sa mère. Visitez et découvrez ce spectacle ici.

À VENIR - « Les averses d'avril apportent les fleurs de mai », du 11 au 31 mai

SPECTACLES PASSÉS -

 

« Entrées et sorties », Jim MacSwain, du 10 au 23 septembre

Entrées et sorties, une exposition de James MacSwain, se compose de neuf documents en deux dimensions ccollages d'une dimension moyenne de 25cm sur 20cm. Comme l'indique le titre, l'œuvre contemple l'entrée d'une situation et la sortie d'une autre. Ces situations sont construites autour des ruines d'anciennes cités romaines ; autour de prophéties de destruction apocalyptique alors qu'un empire tombe et qu'un autre naît; autour de la vie historique de divers personnages qui rencontrent la roue de la fortune. La Roue de la Fortune est une allégorie que tout le monde expérimente ; dans les mauvais moments, la pauvreté et l'échec viennent à nous, mais ensuite la roue tourne et on nous accorde le succès et la richesse. De même, Entrées et sorties joue sur la tension entre raison et irrationalité, entre passé ancien et modernité. Alors que le changement climatique et les guerres ébranlent les fondations de notre propre société, la question demeure : quoi ou qui entrera dans le présent et qui ou quoi en sortira.

 

'Eastern Son', S. KoreySteckle, 30 juin-31 août

Ce sera la première exposition solo pour Steckle primé sur la côte est depuis son déménagement au Cap-Breton depuis l'Ontario. 'Eastern Son' comportera 12nouvelles œuvres originales de Steckle et un certain nombre d'impressions en édition limitée emmêlées à 8x10 et 11x14. Les téléspectateurs remarqueront la découpe et le placement précis des papiers, mettant en vedette certaines des photographies de Steckle, dans les œuvres géométriques abstraites. Thèmes de cacapitalisme, sexe, race, classe sont abordés par l'artiste dans ces collages. Les influences sur l'artiste incluent Robert Raushenberg, Robert Mapplethorp, William S. Burroughs et Marcel Duchamp.

'J'ai pris  le temps dans mon studio situé à Glace Bay pour méditer, rréfléchissez, puis exécutez et exprimez par le biais du collage ce que signifie être un père et un artiste dans cette ère dite de post-vérité », déclare Steckle. 

 

'Trashed - Art as Diversion', 03-24 juin - Une exposition de groupe qui propose à la fois un regard informatif et visuellement attrayant sur le cycle des déchets de la Nouvelle-Écosse et sur la manière dont les artistes du collage et de l'assemblage détournent des objets destinés à la décharge dans leur art. 

Cette exposition comprendra une installation collaborative intitulée « Put a Lid on it », dans laquelle les artistes ont créé un collage ou un assemblage contenu dans un couvercle de bocal explorant ce que signifie mettre un terme à quelque chose. Les gens pourraient limiter leurs idées au cycle des déchets ou s'attaquer à un sens plus large à des problèmes tels que la haine, la guerre ou le mercantilisme. 

Les artistes de "Put a Lid on It" incluent : 

Gavin Snow, Alexandra Merkx-Jacques, Jennifer Rae Forsyth, Jen Worden, Flavia Mauricio, Nina Silver, Rachel Zaenab Buhler, Peter Crouse, Daniel Guy, Violaine Ducharme, Josée Lachapelle, Donica Larade, MadCollage, Jérôme Bertrand, Zanahoy, Suzan Mandla, Lisa Goodyear, Rhonda Barrett et Samantha Agar

Les œuvres des artistes de la galerie étaient exposées exposition avec des travaux de Gavin Snow, Rhonda Barrett, Peter Crouse et Kevin MacLean mis en évidence dans l'exposition. 

 

'De la vie', Gavin Snow, 27 avril-mai07 - Une exposition personnelle du travail de l'artiste Gavin Snow présentant des travaux de collage et d'assemblage qui réutilisent une myriade d'objets trouvés aux côtés de peinture et de gesso texturés, de toiles brutes et peintes, de papiers collés et de morceaux opportuns tels que les tests Covid-19. Des panneaux de signalisation, des enseignes de magasins et des trésors en bordure de rue sont inclus dans cette collection d'œuvres créées "From Life".

 

'Collage Lovers' - Une exposition collective du 1er au 28 février - Une exposition collective de collages qui explore le thème des « amateurs de collages ». Cela peut concerner ceux qui aiment le médium, le collage illustrant l'amour ou explorant des sujets d'affection, ou des idées et des thèmes autour de la communauté et de l'appartenance. 

Les artistes suivants ont travaillé dans ce spectacle:
Alexandra Merke-Jacques
Ebony Jansen
Jay Hodgson
Pierre Crouse
Jen Worden
Rhonda Barrett

bottom of page

top of page

Exhibitions

HAPPENING NOW -

'April Showers Bring May Flowers'

A group show that asked artists to create collage works that explores our collective

husbandry skills and stewardship of the lands upon which we live. Each work had to contain a flower, in image or idea. Visit the entire show here.

Artists include:

Claudia Manco Pena

Jesse Bouffard

Bobby Cox

Jessica Steele

Louise de St. Jorre

Mary-Margaret Bennett

Judith Perry 

Sheila Smyth

Zanahoy

Jordan Baraniecki

Kim Humes

Tamsin Sloots

COMING UP - 'Terra Nullius', A solo show from Jay Hodgson, June 01-June 31

 

PAST SHOWS -

 

2024 Season

 

'Deep Cuts' - April 11 - May 09

A series of collage and décollage works from Rhonda Barrett created to tackle the grief associated with losing both her mother and grandmother within 6 weeks of one another in 2023. 

 

Ju Know?' - March 01 -March 24

All things JUNO inspired the artists for this show. The Juno Music Awards, Juno the film starring Elliot Page, the Aesop fable, the goddess, the butterfly, etc. A group show celebrated during the month of the awards show in Halifax.

2023 Season

'This Time Last Year', Jean Bergeron and From the Edge of the Pit, November 14-28

Jean Bergeron of Sanguenay, QC has been creating a collage a day from whatever papers cross his path each day. This show highlighted 2 weeks of this creative process and the works created between November 14-28 of 2022. Jeans work was paired with the textile collage work of From the Edge of the Pit, a textile and collage artist local to Halifax. 

'NOMNOM', Group Show, October 14-November 4th

A delicious food based show opened the night of October 14 during Nocturne, Art at Night Festival. The show offered a fast food collage experience. Orders were taken at the food truck window and within a few minutes the ingredients were arranged into own take-home artwork, placed in a wrapper and consumed by eager eyes.

'Entrances and Exits', James MacSwain, September 10-30

Entrances and Exits, an exhibition by James MacSwain, consists of nine two-dimensional paper collages with a medium dimension of 25cm by 20cm. As indicated by the title, the work contemplates the entrance of one situation and the exit of another. These situations are built around the ruins of ancient Roman cities; around prophesies of apocalyptic destruction as one empire falls and another is born; around the historical lives of various characters that encounter the Wheel of Fortune. The Wheel of Fortune is an allegory that everyone experiences; in bad times poverty and failure come to us, but then the wheel revolves and we are granted success and riches. As well, Entrances and Exits plays with the tension between reason and irrationality, between the ancient past and modernity. As climate change and wars rattle the foundations of our own society, the question remains: what or who will enter the present and who or what will exit.

 

Eastern Son', S. Korey Steckle, June 30-September 09

This will be the first solo show for award winning Steckle on the East Coast since moving to Cape Breton from Ontario. 'Eastern Son' will feature 12 new original works from Steckle and a number of limited edition prints matted to 8x10 and 11x14. Viewers will note the precise cutting and placement of papers, featuring some of Steckle's own photography, in the abstract geometric works. Themes of capitalism, sex, race, class are tackled by the artist in these collages. Influences on the artist include Robert Raushenberg, Robert Mapplethorp, William S. Burroughs, and Marcel Duchamp.

'I have taken  the time in my studio located in Glace Bay to meditate, reflect and then execute and express in the medium of collage regarding what it means to be a Father and artist in this so called post truth era,' Steckle says. 

 

'Trashed - Art as Diversion', June 03-24 - A group exhibition working as both an informative and visually appealing look at the trash cycle of Nova Scotia, and how collage and assemblage artists are diverting items headed to the landfill into their art. 

This show will included a collaborative installation called 'Put a Lid on it', in which artists created collage or assemblage contained within a jar lid exploring what it means to put a stop to something. Folks could limit their ideas to the waste cycle or tackle a broader meaning to take in issues such as hatred, war or commercialism. 

'Put a Lid on It' artists include: 

Gavin Snow, Alexandra Merkx-Jacques, Jennifer Rae Forsyth, Jen Worden, Flavia Mauricio, Nina Silver, Rachel Zaenab Buhler, Peter Crouse, Daniel Guy, Violaine Ducharme, Josee Lachapelle, Donica Larade, MadCollage, Jerome Bertrand, Zanahoy, Suzan Mandla, Lisa Goodyear, Rhonda Barrett and Samantha Agar

Artworks by the gallery artists were on display with work from Gavin Snow, Rhonda Barrett, Peter Crouse and Kevin MacLean highlighted within the show. 

 

'From Life', Gavin Snow, April 27-May07 - A solo show of work by artist Gavin Snow showcasing collage and assemblage works that repurpose a myriad of found objects along side textured paint and gesso, raw and painted canvas, collaged papers and timely bits and pieces such as Covid-19 tests. Road signs, shop signs and curbside treasures are included in this collection of works created 'From Life'.

 

'Collage Lovers' - A Group Exhibition February 1-February 28th - A group exhibition of collage that explores the theme of 'collage lovers'. This can pertain to those who enjoy the medium, collage depicting love or exploring topics of affection, or ideas and themes around community and belonging. 

The following artists had work in this show:
Alexandra Merke-Jacques, Ebony Jansen, Jay Hodgson, Peter Crouse, Jen Worden, Rhonda Barrett

bottom of page